Home

Emma Makarova

MA with Distinction in Creative Writing (MMU). Writer, teacher and author of Unearthed, available on Kindle and in paperback now

*UPDATE: PREFER TO AVOID AMAZON? YOU CAN NOW ORDER COPIES OF UNEARTHED VIA THE LINK BELOW*

https://emmamakarova.fr/contact/*

Scotland, 1849: Midwinter in a remote village on North Uist and twelve year old Morag has a terrifying encounter in the dark. Is it a beast or is there a more sinister threat which stalks the island? As the villagers turn to folk-lore for protection, Maria, the island owner’s new wife, arrives on North Uist hoping to escape her past. But her past is catching up with her and time is running out for both Maria and the islanders.

For fans of Hannah Kent’s Burial Rites or Sarah Perry’s The Essex Serpent, Unearthed is a story full of magic and wilderness which explores themes of social justice and gender which still resonate today. A novel for book clubs everywhere.

A delight to read: a gripping Gothic historical novel. Written beautifully with real power and atmosphere.” Livi Michael, author of the Succession trilogy.

See what readers say on Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/56503837-unearthed

Unearthed is out on Kindle and in paperback https://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B08P3PC5QB or you can buy directly from this website.

You can read the first page of Unearthed here.

Get news from Emma Makarova delivered to your inbox