Home

Emma Makarova

MA with Distinction in Creative Writing (MMU). Writer, teacher and author of Unearthed, available on Kindle and in paperback now

UPDATE: PREFER TO AVOID AMAZON? YOU CAN NOW ORDER COPIES OF UNEARTHED VIA THE WEBSITE

Planning to read Unearthed in your book club? Check out the book club page

For Book Clubs

Scotland, 1849: Midwinter in a remote village on North Uist and twelve year old Morag has a terrifying encounter in the dark. Is it a beast or is there a more sinister threat which stalks the island? As the villagers turn to folk-lore for protection, Maria, the island owner’s new wife, arrives on North Uist hoping to escape her past. But her past is catching up with her and time is running out for both Maria and the islanders.

For fans of Hannah Kent’s Burial Rites or Sarah Perry’s The Essex Serpent, Unearthed is a story full of magic and wilderness which explores themes of social justice and gender which still resonate today. A novel for book clubs everywhere.

A delight to read: a gripping Gothic historical novel. Written beautifully with real power and atmosphere.” Livi Michael, author of the Succession trilogy.

“Totally engaging from the first page. Unearthed is a beautifully written novel with evocative descriptions of both the landscape and the characters that people them. The story is totally gripping, a real page turner”

See what readers say on Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/56503837-unearthed

Unearthed is out on Kindle and in paperback https://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B08P3PC5QB or you can buy directly from this website.

You can read the first page of Unearthed here.

Get news from Emma Makarova delivered to your inbox